The earliest settlements in Lake Arrowhead, by Europeans were due to the logging industry. In the 1800's Chinese work crews dug a series of tunnels through the San Bernardino mountains that connects to Lake Arrowhead. a narrow steam train ran along what is now the " Rim of the World " highway that runs through Running Springs and into Grass Valley.
Willow Woods is a local sopping community that includes log cabin buildings that were built back in the 1900's and are still in use today.
San Bernardino Mountains
Offers visitors over 2,000 species of flora and nearly 00 specifies of fauna.
The Business District
Burned to the ground in the late 1970's, it was rebuilt to the status you currently see. The pavilion which stands in the center of the village was the only building preserved after the fire.
Many movies have been filed in Lake Arrowhead, including but not limited to " Heidi, " " Magnificent Obsession, " " The American President, " " Space Jam, " and " The Parent Trap. "
Camp Fleming, dating back to 1922 at the time, was one the most advertised attraction in Lake Arrowhead. Located on the east side of the Village and south side of the lake.
Lake Arrowhead Orchestra
Originally, a band of students from Whittier College was comprised of the Lake Arrowhead Orchestra. They played during the summer and recorded a series of songs that were played at the Pavilion or Casino.
Lake Arrowhead Village
Opened in 1922, Lake Arrowhead Village became the lake of recreation. In 1921 the Arrowhead Reservoir and Power Company had lost an ugly battle over water rights. This resulted in them selling the lake and surrounding property to a syndicate called American Lake Company.
Lake Arrowhead Near the Village
This area use to be a boathouse and bathing cove. Today, it is the site of retail stores and a ski school. The Lake Arrowhead tour boat was known as the " Blue Jay ".
The Arrowhead Lake Company after purchasing the lake and surrounding property, began an improvement program. Included was a Norman English style Village. In the 1970's it was intentionally burned and replaced with the current " Village " with the only the Casino remaining.
North Shore Tavern
The North Shore Tavern was originally known as the Clubhouse which was built in 1921. It was constructed to house workers during the construction of the Village. Today, it is the UCLA Conference Center.
Lake Arrowhead Population - 8,934 ( based on 2000 census )
Elevation of the Lake - 5108 Feet
Annual Days of Sunshine - 310
Lake Arrowhead Depth - 185 Feet
Lake Arrowhead Size - 782 Acres
While Lake Arrowhead is rich in history, it also boasts of small family communities like Village Cove, which is home to only 27 houses. Whether you are looking for a day on the dock, a walk around the lake or boating on the gorgeous lake, the family atmosphere and beauty will make you want to call this area " home. "
Visit My Website for all things Lake Arrowhead + More
Search Lake Arrowhead + Surrounding Area Homes For Sale